“Thanks be to God, Who Delivers Me Through Jesus Christ Our Lord!”

Thanks to God!

One of the things I love to do, is to read and hear the testimonies of how people came to know the Lord. They are ‘love stories’ of sorts. I am encouraged by people who have realized the extent of their sins, and who have found redemption and forgiveness through Jesus. That is God’s great love story. He is willing to take the sinners of this world, and redeem us.

In the book of Hosea, there is an analogy using a horrible love story.– Hosea marries a promiscuous woman. She is not faithful to him at all. She has his children, but she keeps going back to her former way of life. She represents Israel, and their unfaithfulness toward God. As this woman is being sold as a slave, Hosea buys her back. He still wants her after all she has done! Even though she has not been faithful to Hosea, Hosea still cares for her!

We are all like that woman. All our righteousness is as filthy rags. The good we want to do, we don’t do. What we don’t want to do, we do. Paul tells us why this is:

So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. Romans 7:21-23

Maybe you’ve shouted out what Paul’s next words were, “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death?”

Paul then tells us, “Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!”

That is why a testimony of salvation means so much! There is much rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents! I, too, feel like leaping for joy, and thanking God, because a slave to sin has been made free! A dead man has been raised to life!

Let us boldly proclaim the gospel, and go forth and preach the good news of salvation!

Dear God, sinners need to find their way to You. Please send workers for Your harvest! We have all sinned and fallen short of Your glory. Without salvation through Your Son, Jesus, we have no hope. Make this world hungry to hear Your words! I pray that the world would see its need to repent, turn from their sins, and seek You. Oh, that they would find salvation and Your great love and mercy! Help me to be a good ambassador, filled with Your Holy Spirit, and Your truth. In the Wonderful, saving name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

One thought on ““Thanks be to God, Who Delivers Me Through Jesus Christ Our Lord!”

Leave a Reply

