A Christian’s Experience:

Fear none of those things which thou shalt suffer: behold, the devil shall cast some of you into prison, that ye may be tried; and ye shall have tribulation ten days: be thou faithful unto death, and I will give thee a crown of life. Revelation 5:10

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world. John 16:33

This summer, I took a job at a convenience store, nearby, to earn extra money for my son to go to Missionary Aviation Training Academy.

On Friday, a woman’s car broke down on the freeway ramp, next to our gas station. She had her seven-year-old son with her. Some strong young boys helped push her car off the road into a dirt parking area near our store.

She came to our counter, and asked, with tears, if I knew of a local mechanic? I tried a few phone numbers, but couldn’t get an answer. I told her she could sit down, have a cup of ice water, and I would help her when I had a chance. I waited on customers in-between helping her find someone to look at her car.

A towing company that helped me when I had trouble once, helped her find a roadside mechanic.

This woman was so poor. Her husband was a migrant worker, who picked fruit in an orchard about two-hundred miles from where I live.

She was on her way back from another state, visiting her sick mother.

The family bought this broken down car, a month ago, with hopes that they would have dependable transportation. After the roadside mechanic looked at it, she found out that the car’s intake had been JB-Welded, and that it had given out, and the motor was damaged.

God spoke to me in that store, and told me to offer this woman a ride home.

I told her that I would get off work in the evening, and that I would drive her home. She took me up on the offer, and waited several hours for me to get off work.

Where I live, it is very remote, with limited services. She had the only car that the family owned, and no money, except the gas money she had to make it home. She had no credit cards.

I drove the woman, and her son, home, and the tow truck company, with a Christian who works there, told the woman he would keep her car for free for a week, and tow it to his yard, until they figured out what to do.

The mechanic, who looked like he could be in the movies, with his tan skin, wavy black hair, and sunglasses, was suppose to charge $60 for coming out to look at the car, and only charged her twenty dollars! He also told me after he looked at it, that he hated to see that happen, and it made him sorry that she bought a car that was bound to go out.

He offered to assist her with repairing it, and told her where she could get cheap parts.

She was so thankful! Her concerns about being in a strange place with her young son, were overwhelming. She was heart-broken, tired, and worried.

I got her home about midnight, and she really did live in poverty, exactly where she had stated. Her husband gave me a large bag of Ranier Cherries he had picked that day, to thank me. (I shared some with the towing company owner, and my boss.)

I got home a little after three in the morning, but had a few hours of sleep, before I had to go to work.

While I was writing my devotions, yesterday, my boss called. She advised me that the girls I worked with, didn’t like me helping out this lady, and that I should have just given her the phone book. — Strange thought.– Temperatures in the hundreds, a little seven year old, a woman with no money and no means, in a remote place where she didn’t know anyone? Maybe they could give her a phone book and look the other way, I couldn’t,

Persecution is bound to follow doing what you know is right. The store made money, as I bought seventy dollars in gas, to bring her home, and the job got done. No customers complained about their service, and the woman and her son were safely home.

If you are persecuted for doing the right thing, rejoice! I honestly felt good, even though the young girls refused to even speak to me, yesterday.

I saw a lot of kindness from the people who helped this woman, the boys who pushed her car, the mechanic, the towing company, all of them helped in ‘doing the right thing’. They showed me a slice of beauty and sacrifice in this self-absorbed world.

Dear God, there is so much opportunity in this world to put our faith in action. I pray that you would send workers for the harvest. Thank you for the people who are willing to make sacrifices that make this world a better place. I know that there will be persecution and tribulation in this world, but you have overcome the world! I pray for Your presence and protection and help, and for Your will to be done.

Thank You! In Jesus’s Wonder Name, Amen!

-Dawn-

Who knows that maybe God had me work at this store, for just this reason?

10 thoughts on “A Christian’s Experience:

  1. I love this Dawn! And you know what Jesus would say – Well done, good and faithful daughter!! You’re so right -we live in skewed world when a good deed can be seen as inconvenience, a costly inconvenience. And who knows WHAT your act of kindness did for the woman, how it touched her heart. But Jesus knows. Be blessed – Reuben

    Like

    • Thanks Reuben! I had to write about this post, because I know a lot of Christians who do things that they know are right, and then are persecuted by others for it, afterwards. I was reading a comment on the news today, about Mother Theresa, and how she asked a baker for bread for the orphans. He was tired of helping the poor, and seeing them beg, so he spit in her face. After wiping her face, Theresa told the baker, “That was for me, now what will you give the orphans?” The baker was ashamed of what he did, and ended up giving her bread. Stories like that amaze me. It is hard to be nice when people are cruel, or to take accusing insults when you are innocent. To react with kindness when others are not, can be a real test of our faith. We really need God’s guidance on how to react. If you can, pray for me to speak the right words today, as the girls at work asked for a meeting about me. I want God’s words, not mine, to be spoken. I know what I want to say, and it wouldn’t be very beneficial, as it would be in anger. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Reuben, the meeting went well. The girl who wanted the meeting didn’t show up. The other lady, I was able to share a little of my testimony with. I told the ladies that I had a horrible life, and that I asked God not to harden my heart by the things that happened. I could have been a really awful person, not wanting to help anyone, and I could have ended up hurting people. By the grace of God, He answered my prayer. Before the meeting, I prayed that God would give me the right words to speak, and also that He would stop me from speaking what I should not say. He answered that prayer too. Thanks Reuben!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement! I know that everything will work out for good for those who love God, who are called according to His purpose. Have a blessed day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

