The Journey to a New Land:

My Grandmother who was a relative of the John Jenny family, who came over to America in the 1600's on the Little James ship.

My Grandmother who had ancestors that came over to America in the 1600’s on the Little James ship.

Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord,
    the people he chose for his inheritance. Psalm 33:12

My Grandma ‘Charlotte’, nicknamed ‘Lottie’, on my dad’s side, had ancestors who came over to America on the Little James ship, during the 1600’s. John Jenny was one of my ancestors.

John Jenny met many obstacles when he came to America. He left the home that he knew, for a territory that was unfamiliar. He took his family with him, and they journeyed to this new land.

As Christians, we have left our old ‘country’, to venture to a new life. We have been made free from sin, no longer under the bondage of a cruel ruler. Our King is Christ, our new home is Heaven, and we are on the journey that will lead us to a new land.

We are bound to be met with obstacles, with hardships, and strife, and some will experience physical death, but still, our new home is worth the trouble! We will be free, indeed!

Our journey has been paid for, our ship is Jesus Christ, and if we remain in Him, we can weather the storms on this ocean of life.

Our new world will have God as our Lord, and we will be His inheritance.(verse above) And we will be blessed!

Revelation 21:3

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’[b] or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

Dear God, keep us focused on the prize, the end of our long, hard, journey. Protect us, and keep us from being deceived. Guide us and lead us in the way everlasting. Thank You for giving us freedom through Jesus Christ, Your Son. I pray that many would join us on this journey, and take part in the New World that You are creating for us. May Your will be done. I also pray that people would seek You, and repent of their sins, and that they would find salvation through Jesus Christ. I thank You for Your many blessings, and for Your Great Love. In Jesus’s precious name, Amen.

-Dawn-

Have a Happy, Safe, Independence Day, 4th of July Celebration!

6 thoughts on “The Journey to a New Land:

    • I love the old photos too. My grandparents had a pretty tough life. They were farmers in North Dakota. They raised cattle, and planted wheat and corn. They lived through some pretty tough winters. Always had a delicious meal for us kids when we visited, and Christmas presents. It was pretty special, because there were nine of us kids. I sure miss my grandparents, my mom and dad, as they are all gone, and only the memories remain. I am glad there are some good ones. There was a lot of trouble too, but it is the good memories I cling to. Hope all is well, -Dawn

      Liked by 1 person

      • You have a lot of great memories. I am glad yours are so good. I wish mine could be as good. Not that we didn’t have some good times. North Dakota, I can only imagine how bad the winters could be there. I have enough trouble with Kansas winters. 🙂 My step-father has you beat, he was one of twelve or thirteen. One of his brothers had eighteen. Me, I only have two siblings. Have a great week.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Your step-father had a huge family! I don’t have all good memories, but with time, and the Lord’s help, a lot of those memories have faded away, and also, I realize the extent of my own wretchedness, that I have no choice but to forgive others of their mistakes. Hope all is well! May you be extremely blessed with power, love, and a sound mind this week!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Forgiveness is difficult, but very freeing. My problem is that I forgive, but because I don’t want to be hurt again, I would rather not have a close relationship with the person who offended me, especially if they are not sorry, or can’t see their need for forgiveness. When Jesus forgives, it is because a person is truly repentant, but then I also saw that He forgave the Romans who nailed Him to the cross, because they didn’t know what they were doing. He said, “Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.” That helps me to forgive some people, because there are many people who don’t know what they are doing, when they hurt us. Like Jesus, we can forgive them for their lack of understanding. I think there are many kinds of forgiveness? Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

