Pray to Receive the Spirit:

14 When the apostles in Jerusalem heard that Samaria had accepted the word of God, they sent Peter and John to Samaria. 15 When they arrived, they prayed for the new believers there that they might receive the Holy Spirit,16 because the Holy Spirit had not yet come on any of them; they had simply been baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus. Acts 8: 14-16

There is an interesting bit of information in this verse. — New believers in Samaria were not yet filled with the Holy Spirit of God. Peter and John prayed for them, that they might receive the Holy Spirit.

It is so true that an effective Christian life includes the indwelling of the Holy Spirit.

“I baptize you with water for repentance. But after me comes one who is more powerful than I, whose sandals I am not worthy to carry. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire. Matthew 3:11

Jesus is the One who baptizes us with the Holy Spirit.

After Jesus rose from the dead, He baptized His disciples:

21 Again Jesus said, “Peace be with you! As the Father has sent me, I am sending you.” 22 And with that he breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit. 23 If you forgive anyone’s sins, their sins are forgiven; if you do not forgive them, they are not forgiven.”

The Holy Spirit in us is a powerful testimony to others of ‘God in us’. He is God’s power in us. I was baptized in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. I did not feel the power of the Holy Spirit at that time.

I went to a woman’s Aglow meeting at a home, and I was ‘slain’ in the Spirit, when some women prayed with me. I just felt so much power of peace come over me, and I fell backwards, not of my own doing. It should have been a frightful experience, but I had so much peace. That was over thirty years ago.

I know that the Spirit of God does amazing things in a Christian’s life. He gives us joy, peace, patience, brotherly kindness, forgiveness, love, and power, and so much more, to live a fulfilling life.

He manifests Himself as the wind, as flaming tongues of fire, and more. He is a necessary part of our Christian life!

If you would like to study more about the Holy Spirit, here is a link to Biblegateway.com, and many verses that contain information about the Holy Spirit.

Dear God, please fill me with Your Holy Spirit, and help my life to be a powerful witness for You. Teach me about the things I need to know, and send workers for the harvest. Your will be done, in the name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

One thought on “Pray to Receive the Spirit:

Leave a Reply

