A Temporary Resident:

Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; before, you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy. Dear friends, I urge you as aliens and temporary residents not to give in to the desires of your old nature, which keep warring against you; but to live such good lives among the pagans that even though they now speak against you as evil-doers, they will, as a result of seeing your good actions, give glory to God on the Day of his coming.

1 Peter 2: 10-12

I am reminded that I will always be ‘a foreigner’ on this earth. I do not belong here, because I have received mercy from God, Himself, and have become one of ‘His people’. I do not conform to the label of ‘American’, I am a ‘Christian’, and my King is Jesus Christ.

While on this earth, I will always live among ‘pagans’, and they will speak of me as an evil-doer. My hope is in Jesus Christ, the redemption that has been offered to me, as a former ‘pagan’. (Merriam -Webster defines ‘pagan’ as: one who has little or no religion and who delights in sensual pleasures and material goods :  an irreligious or hedonistic person)

I have been set free from the slavery of sin, and been redeemed by my Lord, Jesus Christ. He paid such a great price for my freedom. I am a citizen of Heaven, now, by the saving power of Jesus, God’s Son.

Peter calls us ‘friends’ and tells us we are aliens and temporary residents, and he urges us not to give in to the desires of our old nature, which constantly war against us. Instead, we should live such good lives among the ‘nonreligious’ of this world, that even though they condemn us, they will give glory to God on the Day of His coming, because of our good actions.

We may not see them glorify God in our lifetime, but every knee will bow, every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, when He returns.

Dear God, thank You for the great advice that Peter gives us. Help us to live good lives among the pagans, and help us to react with good actions to the glory of You. Also, help us not to give in to the old nature that wars against us.. I pray for the power of Your Holy Spirit in me, to be a good ambassador for You. Keep me from being deceived, and from temptation, and deliver us from the evil one. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

