Feeling Hurt by the Ones You Love?

Genesis 45:8 biblegateway.com

So now it was not you that sent me hither, but God: and he hath made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house, and a ruler throughout all the land of Egypt.

Many people feel betrayed and hurt by the ones they love. Joseph is a great example of how God can use those hurts for good and for His glory.

Joseph was attacked by his brothers, thrown into a pit, sold into slavery, falsely accused, thrown into prison, and treated unfairly for a good portion of his life.

He could easily let self pity consume him. He could have felt sorry for himself, but instead, he looked to God for help, kept hoping in the midst of his trials, and kept faith that God would deliver him.

God used all of Joseph’s trials to save Israel from starvation. His brothers came to Egypt, seeking grain and food. Joseph was in charge of the distribution. He recognized his brothers, but they didn’t recognize him.

Joseph tested his brothers to see if they had changed, or if they were still the rebellious gangsters who had beaten him. After a little fun with them, he breaks down in tears, and tells them that it wasn’t them that sent him to Egypt, but God:

And Joseph said unto his brethren, I am Joseph; doth my father yet live? And his brethren could not answer him; for they were troubled at his presence.

And Joseph said unto his brethren, Come near to me, I pray you. And they came near. And he said, I am Joseph your brother, whom ye sold into Egypt.

Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for God did send me before you to preserve life.

For these two years hath the famine been in the land: and yet there are five years, in the which there shall neither be earing nor harvest.

And God sent me before you to preserve you a posterity in the earth, and to save your lives by a great deliverance.

So now it was not you that sent me hither, but God: and he hath made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house, and a ruler throughout all the land of Egypt.

Haste ye, and go up to my father, and say unto him, Thus saith thy son Joseph, God hath made me lord of all Egypt: come down unto me, tarry not:

It is possible that God is using our circumstances to bring about His purpose. Keep looking to God for deliverance, and forgive the ones that have caused you grief and trouble. Maybe it was God’s way of bringing you to a place where you can help others?

Dear God, help me to see the big picture. I am so nearsighted. I know that You have a plan and a purpose and that Your will prevails. You always do what is right. Help me to forgive others, and accept the circumstances in my life that have brought me to You. You work all things out for good for those who are called according to Your purpose, for those who love You. Thank You! In the name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

PS:  This link is a wonderful study on Joseph, with a free coloring page: http://biblebasedhomeschooling.com/forgiveness-from-his-sunflower-with-free-coloring-page/

Also, my sister called me, and told me how she picked some sunflowers for her primary kids, and told them how sunflower heads are bright, happy looking, and face the sun. That is how we should be. We need to stay focused on God, turning to Him in all our troubles.

10 thoughts on “Feeling Hurt by the Ones You Love?

  1. Dawn!

    Blessings to you in the mighty name of our Dear Lord Jesus Christ.

    Please forgive me, for I know this is the most inappropriate means of connecting with you…but this is the avenue I could find.

    First of all, I want thank God for your life and the awesome work He is doing through you on Daily Devotions with Dawn!

    To Him alone be all the GLORY!

    My name is Tim and I am the founder of the newly unveiled Christian Social Media/Community known as: Rhemalog

    If I may crave your indulgence, I will quickly like to intimate you on our purpose, goals and objectives.

    The name Rhemalog is a compound word, coined from both “Rhema” and “Log”.
    It means, putting into writing(Log), your encounters in the Word of God(Rhema).
    That is, sharing with the beloved, the things that God has shown unto you in His Word.

    Rhemalog was established by the leading of the Holy Spirit, as a platform to enrich and impact the body of Christ all over the World!

    You will agree with me that there is a lot of degradation going on.
    Abuse, spiritual contaminations, mental pollutions and attacks on our faith.

    All you need is to refresh your social-media pages long enough…then boom!
    There you have it, in your face!
    But.
    Wouldnt it be awesome to have a sanctified environment?

    A platform built solely for the Children of God.
    Devoid of negativity around us, but filled with inspirations, encouragements and above all, the WORD OF GOD!

    A breath of fresh air. Family friendly, conducive, loving and embracing.

    Your own family of fellow brethren, encouraging, building, cheering on and strengthening each other on a daily basis!

    This is our driving force.
    The clarion call that moved us to put Rhemalog in place.

    And this is our call to you: Would you like to join us?

    As one of the (Christian) thinkers and opinion-makers out there, logically, it is a no-brainer that we need you, especially since our main goal is to ensure that the people are well fed.

    We need your insightful thoughts. Inspirational ideas. Well written pieces. We need YOU!

    We need you, not only as a member, but also as an A-List contributor.

    And we already have all the tools required.

    – Personal Blogging feature
    – Video sharing
    – Community pages (think facebook pages)
    – Timelines and profiles
    – Pictures, etc

    Together, we can build one of the most vibrant and impact-full communities out there.

    Should you decide to join us now:

    – Your personal blog and info will be shared on our social media pages (with over 67,000 members)

    – As an early adopter, you will be a part of a huge and influential community at its infant stage.

    – Your community page will be featured, if you create one. Meaning, it will come up first in searches and views (with its own cute ribbon)

    – You can host all your youtube and vimeo videos, thereby increasing your viewer-ship and enhancing your reach.

    Well, “gold and silver” we have not.
    But can you help us be a blessing to the children of God out there?

    The address of the website is:

    rhemalog dot com (No need to create an unsolicited backlink!)

    It will be a huge honour and we will be waiting for you.

    The first step is to be registered. Duration of your submissions will be totally up to you. To keep up though, we would suggest you begin by sharing the links to your blog posts, later on, you can start doing reblogs or creating unique postings using our blog feature.

    However, in-between, we would love your quips, wits, quotes and words of wisdom, posted on your homepage timeline. We consider these to be quick tonic for the soul…snacks for those in hurried need of inspiration and motivations.

    Whichever option you choose, we cannot wait to have a drink from the fountain of your God-given wisdom.

    Thanks and may God continually keep His face shining on you.

    Yours in Christ,

    Tim (Rhemalog Community)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tim, I am honored that you invited me to join your online community. I will pray about it. I visited your site, and it is wonderful! Great Job of putting that together! I am homeschooling my son’s senior year, and am a little overwhelmed right now with too much to do. I will check back, and continue to read your wonderful posts. Thank you so much for sharing your site.

      Like

    • Reuben, I needed this too! Joseph had a very colorful life. The painting of my life is so full of colors too, but I’m not sure what the big picture looks like. It is like the little dots that make up electronic pictures. I only see the small dots of color, but God is creating the great big masterpiece, and already knows what it looks like. I can trust Him.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on In Pursuit of Peace and…. and commented:
    Be encouraged.

    Dear God, Help me to forgive those who have wounded me, even while the wound is still open. Help me to be conscious of my words and actions. Help me not to deliberately hurt others, especially in trying to defend myself. Give me the grace to accept your will. In Jesus’ name, Amen

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment, for reblogging, and for visiting my blog. I am inspired by Joseph’s life, and how God used even the bad things for good. Joseph ended up helping so many others. His life was truly guided by God, even though it must have been hard to realize that at the time. This story was very beneficial to me too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dawn, thank you so much for sharing this. I read a post earlier today, a poem about how we can bear emotional scars for years, inflicted by people who profess to love us. But God, in His great mercy, wants to heal those wounds, mend our broken hearts, and use that pain we bore to help others. My life verse is Rom. 8:28. It has been my lifeline many times, and even now, with some struggles, I’m finding God’s grace to be sufficient. He is increasing my faith and teaching me to stop trying to fix the things that are beyond my realm of responsbility and ability. God is able. Praying for you as you homeschool. God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

